Women League Super Six kicks off in Abuja

Addressing the media to usher in the competition, the Chairman of the Women League Board, Chief Dilichukwu Onyedinma said the Super Six is aimed at deciding the overall winner of the Nigeria Women Professional League.

She said the 20 clubs competing in the league are divided into two equal groups of 10 clubs each and the top three clubs in each group automatically qualify for the Super Six.


At the end of the 2012 season, Sunshine Queens of Akure, Nasarawa Amazons of Lafia, and Kogi Queens of Lokoja emerged from Group A just as Rivers Angels of Port-Harcourt, Bayelsa Queens of Yenagoa and Delta Queens of Asaba emerged tops from Group B.

Onyedinma explained that in the Super Six competition, the six clubs would be grouped into two and would play in a round robin format with the winners of each group playing in the final which comes up on Tuesday, November 27 at the Area 10 Sports complex.

The chairman said trophies and medals would be presented to eventual winners just as she said all participating teams would be presented with certificate of participation.

She also said apart from the money provided by the NFF for the competition to be staged, sport drinks producers, Lucozade sport would supply all the drinks during the competition.

Onyedinma called on football fans to come witness the best of Nigerian women football as she said the clubs would parade most of the national team players they would love to watch.


Download Daily Trust News App

Get it on Google Play
Share this article

Join us on

Share your story with us: 08189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email:

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organizations stand or views on issues.