Stamp/seal: Liman chairs 13-man c’ttee

Other members of the committee are, Anthony Okah, alternate chairman; P.E. Ayewoh-Odiase,  Rosemary A. Inko-Dokubo (Ms.),    Sherif Ndasule, Seun Ajayi, Ibrahim Effiong, Ismaila Momodu Alasa, ’Mena Ajakpovi, Innocent Orji Egwu, Asanuvwie Sunny Oberhiri, Toyin Bashorun (Ms), secretary and Kingsley Chukwu, alternate secretary.
 Okey Wali, said one of the roles of the association was to explore means of regulating its members’ activities through various ways of identification.
He said the committee was mandated by the association to publicise and educate members, who had fulfilled the requirements to operate as lawyers, on the stamp and seal policy, adding thta the committee also had the mandate of identifying fake lawyers through identification by seal and maintaining an accurate members’ directory through the information on application for the seal.
The committee is also mandated to ensure that lawyers paid their practising fees annually.
It said the significance of using the seal was underscored by the provision of Rules 10(1), (2), and (3) of the Rules of Professional Conduct for legal practitioners.The rule states that a “lawyer acting in his or her capacity as a legal practitioner, legal officer or adviser of any governmental department or ministry or any corporation, under Rule 10(1) shall not sign or file a legal document unless there is affixed on any such document a seal and a stamp approved by the Nigerian Bar Association.”provision

Download Daily Trust News App

Get it on Google Play
Share this article

Join us on

Share your story with us: 08189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email:

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organizations stand or views on issues.