Breaking News

Rohr unveils 23-man Nigeria squad for AFCON qualifier

Coach Gernot Rohr has announced his 23-man Nigeria squad for September’s Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Seychelles.

Injured John Obi Mikel was expectedly missing, while there was no place for Elderson Echiejile as the German tactician stuck to most of the players who featured at the 2018 Fifa World Cup in Russia.
Porto B’s Kelechi Nwakali has been handed a chance to justify his claim for a place in Super Eagles’ middle.
The three-time African champions made a false start in the qualifying series – bowing 2-0 to South Africa in Uyo – and they must negotiate their way past the Pirates to resurrect their chances of qualifying for Cameroon 2019.
Meanwhile, Rohr has disclosed that his assistant, Salisu Yusuf, who is under investigations for bribery will not be part of the team for the September 8 showdown.
GOALKEEPERS: Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechuwu Ezenwa
DEFENDERS: Leon Balogun, William Troost-Ekong, Chidozie Awaziem, Bryan Idowu, Ola Aina, Jamiu Colllins, Semiu Ajayi, Kenneth Omeruo
MIDFIELDERS: Wilfred Ndidi, Ogenyi Onazi, Joel Obi, John Ogu, Karo Etebo, Kelechi Nwakali
FORWARDS: Ahmed Musa, Odion Ighalo, Simy Nwankwo, Alex Iwobi, Henry Onyekuru, Samuel Kalu, Kelechi Iheanacho
STANDBY: Uche Agbo Stephen Eze Blessing Eleke Musa Mohammed


Join us on

Send DTM to 4900 (MTN) or DTM to 655 (Etisalat) for regular updates and more

Share your story with us: 08189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email: Or use this form

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900