Breaking News

Okowa sacks two commissioners, reshuffles cabinet

Senator Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, governor of Delta State, has carried out a minor cabinet reshuffle relieving two commissioners of their portfolios while reassigning four others.


Commissioner of health, Dr. Nicholas Azinge and Chief Dan Okenyi of Culture & Tourism Ministry were dropped while Hon Asupa Forteta of the Directorate of Youths Development was swapped with his Urban Renewal Directorate counterpart, Chief Karo Ilolo.

Others affected by the reshuffle were Hon. Bright Edejewhro of Local Government Affairs Directorate now heads Ministry Of Science and Technology and Hon Joyce Overah, of the Ministry of The Science and Technology now moves to Local Government Affairs Directorate.


In a statement issued by the Chief Press Secretary to the governor, Charles Ehiedu, the decision to reshuffle the cabinet is in line with the state government’s desire to re-energise the machinery of government and bring new impetus into service delivery.

Governor Okowa in a circular signed by the Secretary to State Government, Hon. Ovie Agas thanked the two commissioners relieved of their portfolios for their commitment and contributions to the SMART Agenda and wished them success in their future endeavours.


Join us on

Send DTM to 4900 (MTN) or DTM to 655 (Etisalat) for regular updates and more

Share your story with us: 08189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email: Or use this form

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900