Ogun speaker retains position as Oluomo emerges deputy

Adekunmbi who is representing Yewa North 1 state constituency will be making history as the second lawmaker to be so returned as the Speaker of the House since its inauguration in 1979.  Mrs Titilayo Oseni was returned as the speaker in 2007 but was removed in May, 2008.
A returning member, Layiwola Ojodu (Abeokuta North) was also nominated and was seconded by Adebiyi Adeleye (Remo North). But with objection from the entire 26 members in attendance, Adekunmbi was sworn in immediately by the House Clerk, Muyiwa Adenopo.
Daily Trust gathered that the emergence of Adekunmbi as Speaker may not be unconnected with the zoning arrangement of political posts. With the Egba and Ijebu holding forth as the governor and deputy governor respectively, the speaker position is automatically zoned to the Yewa.
Kunle Oluomo (Ifo 1) emerged deputy speaker. He is replacing Tola Banjo (Ijebu ode), who lost the State House of Assembly election to Wale Alausa of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).
The majority leader is Yinka Mafe (Sagamu 1), replacing Israel Jolaoso (Ewekoro), Daily Trust learnt.


Download Daily Trust News App

Get it on Google Play
Share this article

Join us on

Share your story with us: 08189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email:

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organizations stand or views on issues.