Not the Booker prize announces 2019 longlist of 117 books

Not the Booker prize has announced a longlist of 117 novels including Sefi Atta’s ‘The Bead Collector’, Chigozie Obioma’s ‘An Orchestra of Minorities’, and Oyinkan Braithwaite’s ‘My Sister, the Serial Killer’.

To get the shortlist, the list will be whittled down by a public vote from 163 books to three. One other book will be selected by the 2018 judging panel and Storyhouse library and 2019 independent bookseller of the year, Edinburgh’s Golden Hare will select one novel to complete the list of six.

Readers are expected to choose two books from the longlist. These have to be from two different publishers. A review should also accompany this selection with the word ‘vote’.

The next deadline is Monday, August 5 2019. The results will be posted on August 6.

A judging meeting will be organised online on 11 October 2019 where the winner of the public vote will be allotted two votes. The reader judges will each have one vote and will come to a decision on the overall winner in a live online event, with Sam Jordison wielding a casting vote, if required.

The Not the Booker prize is organised by the Guardian UK.

Download Daily Trust News App

Get it on Google Play
Share this article

Join us on

Join our whatsapp group here for Breaking News, Exclusives , others

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email:

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organizations stand or views on issues.