Nigerian female professor wins IUPAC bureau membership

The immediate past president of the Chemical Society of Nigeria (CSN), Professor Gloria Obuzor, has won the membership of the Bureau of International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) at the just concluded 47th World Chemistry Congress and 50th General Assembly of the organisation in Paris, France.

The Professor of Chemistry at the University of Port Harcourt won one of the six vacancies in the bureau among 12 contestants.

She scored the second highest votes to defeat six other contestants from France, Egypt, Italy, Korea, Puerto Rico and China.

The bureau was established by the IUPAC Council to act on its behalf during the intervals between council meetings, except on matters specifically excluded from its delegated authority.

It consists of the IUPAC president, vice-president, secretary general, treasurer, immediate past-president, and presidents of IUPAC divisions, together with at least 10 other members elected by the council who are known as elected members; which congress Professor Obuzor was elected into.

Download Daily Trust News App

Get it on Google Play
Share this article

Join us on

Share your story with us: 08189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email:

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organizations stand or views on issues.