Lagos Assembly reinstates suspended lawmakers

The Lagos State House of Assembly yesterday lifted the suspension placed on two of its principal officers and two other lawmakers.

The House had on March 9, 2020 removed two principal officers – Hon. Rotimi Abiru and Hon. Olumuyiwa Jimoh as chief whip and deputy majority leader respectively – replacing them with new officers.

Two other lawmakers – Hon. Moshood Oshun representing Lagos Mainland Constituency 2 and Hon. Kazeem Raheem Adewale representing Ibeju Lekki Constituency 2 – were also suspended over what the parliament described as gross misconduct, insubordination and actions capable of destabilising the house.

Speaker of the House, Mudashiru Obasa, who announced their reinstatement during plenary at the floor of the House, explained that it took the intervention of the Governor’s Advisory Council (GAC) and the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, to resolve the impasse and get the lawmakers reinstated.

Download Daily Trust News App

Get it on Google Play
Share this article

Join us on

Join our whatsapp group here for Breaking News, Exclusives , others

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email:

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organizations stand or views on issues.