Insecurity: CAN urge Buhari to reshuffle security agencies

The Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) has urged President Muhammadu Buhari to carry out extensive re-organization of the nation’ security apparatus as part of measures to stem the growing insecurity in the land.

This is contained in a communique of the National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting of the association held in Abuja and signed by Pastor Adebayo Oladeji, the spokesman of the CAN President Dr Samson Olasupo Ayokunle.
The communique which bemoaned insecurity and incessant killings across the country, commiserated with the victims and the bereaved of the killings especially in Benue, Taraba, Adamawa and Zamfara states by insurgents, armed herdsmen and bandits.
“We call on President Muhammadu Buhari to reorganize the entire security agencies with a view to injecting new officers with new visions and ideas that can restore sanity to all the trouble spots in the country. CAN identify with the victims of the on-going killings by armed herdsmen in the North-central, the Boko haram terrorists in some states in the Northeast and bandits in Zamfara State, CAN frowns at the failure of the security agencies to prevent those criminals before they strike as expected of them.
“CAN reiterate its opposition to the composition of the National Security Council (NSC) which skewed in favour of one religion and a part of the country; ours is a multi-ethnic and multi- religious state and we call on President Muhammadu Buhari to respect the Federal Character Commission Act in all his appointments and policies,” the communique said.
The body also urged the Independence National Electoral Commission (INEC) to stop the underage registration that characterizes the ongoing registration of voters in some parts of the country.
Christian leaders at the meeting include CAN President Dr Samson Olasupo Ayokunle, Vice President Elder Prof Joseph Otubu, General Secretary Dr Musa Asake, Assistant General Secretary Barrister Joseph Daramola, Treasurer Bishop Anthony Anyiador, Legal Director Barrister Samuel Kwankur, Youth Director Elder Biodun Sayanolu, and the Director National Issues Bishop S.T.V. Adegbite.
Others are the bloc leaders; Dr Fubara Fubara-Manuel (Christian Council of Nigeria, CCN), Pastor Dr A. O. Akinosun (Pentecostal Fellowship of Nigeria/Christian Pentecostal Fellowship of Nigeria (PFN/CPFN); Elder Napo Emuchay (the Organisation of African Instituted Churches (OAIC), Rev Dr Caleb Ahima  Tarayar Ekklesiyoyin Kristi a Nigeria or The Fellowship of the Churches of Christ in Nigeria (TEKAN)/Evangelical Church of Winning All (ECWA) and Prof Cornelius Afebu Omonokhua (Catholic Secretariat of Nigeria, CSN) among others.


Join us on

Send DTM to 4900 (MTN) or DTM to 655 (Etisalat) for regular updates and more

Share your story with us: 08189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email: Or use this form

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900