INEC: APC won’t participate in Niger rerun poll — INEC

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Niger State has disclosed that the APC will not participate in the rerun election for Agwara state constituency.

The 12 political parties that will participate in the election fixed for January 25 include ACD, ADC, AGA, DA, GPN, KP, PPN, PT, SDP, PDP, APGA and AD.

The Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Professor Samuel Egwu, spoke on the issue in Minna during a general stakeholders’ meeting held at INEC office.

Prof. Egwu said the APC would not be participate in the election because the party was challenged in court after the last general elections.

He said the commission would not deploy any adhoc staff apart from its internal staff.

“We are well prepared for the rerun election. The election requires a lot of preparation which is why we call this meeting to rub minds with stakeholders.

“We have 36, 411 registered voters with 59 polling units, 65 voters points, 279 INEC staff. Collation officers are likely to be deployed from federal institutions and not INEC staff,” he added.

The REC said the commission was still expecting formal communication from the Speaker of the House of Representatives on the vacant seat in the lower chamber of National Assembly due to the death of the occupant.

Download Daily Trust News App

Get it on Google Play
Share this article

Join us on

Join our whatsapp group here for Breaking News, Exclusives , others

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email:

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organizations stand or views on issues.