Imo Deputy Speaker resigns as nine lawmakers defect to APC

Imo State House of Assembly

The Deputy Speaker of Imo State House of Assembly, Mr. Okey Onyekanma, has resigned.

His resignation was announced by the Speaker, Chiji Collins, at a plenary today, which is currently in session.

The deputy speaker also resigned as the chairman of the House committee on rules and business.

His resignation is coming at a time about nine members of the Action Aaliance (AA), People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in the state.

Daily Trust reports that the Minority Leader of Imo State House of Assembly, Ekene Nnodimele, has also resigned his position.

Nnodimele of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) representing Orsu state constituency, also joined the ruling All Progreesives Congress (APC) after resigning his position in the House.

Those who defected are:

1) Nwangele LGA: Chyna Iwuanyanwu – PDP

2) Ideato North LGA. Innocent Egwim – AA

3) Okigwe LGA: Chidem Emelumba – PDP

4) Nkwerre LGA : Obinna Okwara – AA

5) Onuimo LGA : Paul Emeziem – APGA

6) Orsu LGA : Ekene Nnodumele – APGA

7) Ideato South LGA: Duru Johnson – AA

8) Isu LGA:  SN Obiefule – AA

9) Ohaji-Egbema LGA: Herculus Okoro – PDP


Download Daily Trust News App

Get it on Google Play
Share this article

Join us on

Join our whatsapp group here for Breaking News, Exclusives , others

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email:

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organizations stand or views on issues.