Idada, Olatunde, Begho make 2019 Nigeria Prize shortlist

Jude Idada for ‘Boom Boom
Jude Idada for ‘Boom Boom

The Nigeria Prize for Literature has released its 2019 shortlist, which includes Jude Idada for ‘Boom Boom,’ Dunni Olatunde (‘Mystery at Ebenezer Lodge’), and OT Begho (‘The Great Walls of Benin’).

The shortlist was announced in Lagos on September 4. Earlier in the year, a longlist of 11 was announced from 173 entries.

This year, the prize, worth $100,000, focuses on Children’s Literature. In 2015, this category was not awarded because the panel of judges felt there was no book worthy of winning the award.

The panel of judges for this year are University of Ibadan’s Prof. Obododinma Oha (chair), Usmanu Danfodiyo University’s Prof. Asabe Usman Kabir, and University of Lagos’ Dr. Patrick Okolo.

The ultimate winner of the prize sponsored by Nigerian Liquiefied Natural Gas company will be revealed at an award ceremony in October 2019.

Download Daily Trust News App

Get it on Google Play
Share this article

Join us on

Join our whatsapp group here for Breaking News, Exclusives , others

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email:

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organizations stand or views on issues.