Daily Trust

Health commissioner elected as new Zamfara APC chairman

A commissioner for health, Alhaji Lawali M Liman was elected as the new chairman of the All Progressive Congress in Zamfara state.

Liman would replace Alhaji Lawali Abubakar Kaura who held the state chairmanship position since the time of the defunct ANPP.

The chairman of the Congress committee in the state Alhaji Umaru Dembo had earlier said the stakeholders in the state had  agreed to adopt a concensus approach in the Congress.

He said the  voice voting would be adopted and all the delegates would endorse a particular candidate by voicing their support for him or her since it is legally tenable in accordance with the party’s constitution.

The 36 exco members were called upon one by one and the 2000 delegates voiced their support for each candidate called. Therefore all the candidates were declared winners of the various positions of the party by the committee after the delegates unopposedly endorsed them.

Others elected at the Congress are Alhaji Musa Mallaha, vice chairman, Alhaji Sani Gwamna Mayanchi, zonal vice chairman, Alhaji Sani Musa Mono, secretary, Babangida Abubakar, Treasurer, Shehu Isah Gusau, publicity secretary, Abdullahi Ja’o, legal adviser , while Hajiya Jummai Wakili was returned as women leader

In his remarks, the newly elected chairman Alhaji Lawali M Liman promised to work hard for the success of the party and to unite the party members ahead of the forthcoming elections.