Breaking: INEC reverses self, declares PDP winner of Orlu/Orsu/Oru East poll

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, in Imo State, on Monday, declared Jerry Alagboso of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner of the Orlu/Orsu/Oru East federal constituency election.

The Action Alliance (AA), All Progressives Congress (APC) and All Progressives Grand (APGA) candidates are now protesting the result.


INEC had earlier declared the election inconclusive, but the Resident Electoral Commissioner, Prof. Francis Chukwuemeka Ezeonu later declared Mr. Alagboso winner.

Giving reasons for the reversal, Ezeonu said that the Returning Officer did not apply the electoral guidelines properly in declaring the election inconclusive.

According to him, the electoral guidelines had stipulated that areas where card readers were not deployed, either as a result of violence or compromise, such areas should have zero returns.

He said that some of the areas declared inconclusive actually had results, while others didn’t.

This, he said, necessitated INEC to have a rethink and apply the electoral law, as stipulated.

In announcing the result, the Returning Officer, Prof. Innocent Madufor, said that Alagboso polled 21273 to defeat the AA candidate, Dr. Ikenna Ihezuo, who polled 2,171 votes and APC’s Edwin Iheanacho, with 20061 votes.

Immediately the results were announced, there was an uproar as the three parties accused INEC of bias.


Don't Let Your PROSTATE Frustrate You! Here's A Better NATURAL Way To Shrink Your Prostate Enlargement! -No Surgery, -No Drugs. Shrink To Normal In Just 15 Days!

Normalize Your Urination And Erection! Just Click To Get It Now!

Download Daily Trust News App

Get it on Google Play
Share this article

Join us on

Share your story with us: 08189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email:

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organizations stand or views on issues.