Benue APC suspends Waku, Jime, 10 others

The suspension, announced on the state’s owned broadcasting station, indicated that the decision was taken by the party’s executive body during a meeting held in Makurdi.
Daily Trust reports that the suspended party stalwarts have been in court since after the party’s primary elections were concluded in the state last year with most of them alleging that their names were substituted while others claimed that the polls did not hold in their areas.
It was learnt that the party’s executive committee suspended the members after they were said to have refused to heed to its advice to withdraw cases they had filed before the courts against the party’s preferred candidates.
 The Benue State chairman of the APC, Comrade Abba Yaro who announced the suspension, said the suspended members comprised Jime, Waku, Mrs. Dorathy Mato, Sunny Odugbo, Justice Utsaha, John Usaka, E. Onaji, Matthew Nezan, Frank Utoo, Linda Ogbeche, Avine Agbum and Ojogbsni Adai.
Waku and Jime were governorship aspirants of the party in the recently concluded general elections. Jime was challenging the emergence of Governor Samuel Ortom who emerged the party’s flagbearer, claiming that no primary election was held.
Mrs. Mato is challenging the emergence of Herman Hembe as candidate for Jechira Federal Constituency, Frank Utoo challenged the emergence of Tarkigir Dickson as APC candidate for Makurdi/Guma Federal Constituency while Agbum faulted the nomination of the member representing Makurdi South state constituency.

Download Daily Trust News App

Get it on Google Play
Share this article

Join us on

Join our whatsapp group here for Breaking News, Exclusives , others

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email:

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organizations stand or views on issues.