Daily Trust

Amosun, anointed successor, Ogun Speaker named in consensus list

Governor Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun State

Despite protest which trailed the consensus arrangement adopted by Ogun State Chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC), the party on Wednesday named outgoing Governor Ibikunle Amosun as the consensus candidate for Ogun Central Senatorial seat for the 2019 election.

This was contained in a statement made available to journalists in Abeokuta by the State APC Publicity Secretary, Wole Elegbede.


The governor’s anointed successor, Adekunle Akinlade and Mrs Adepeju Adebajo were named as consensus governorship candidate and running-mate.

Also Amosun’s Chief of Staff, Tolu Odebiyi was named as candidate for Ogun West Senatorial district, while Lekan Mustapha was picked for Ogun East senatorial district.


The Speaker of the State Assembly, Suraj Adekunbi, who is a governorship aspirant, was adopted as candidate for Egbado North/Imeko Afon Federal Constituency.

Consensus candidates for other House of Representatives seats are Rotimi Rahman (Ado Odo/Ota), Adeleke Adewolu (Ewekoro/Ifo), Biyi Ismail ( Ijebu North/Ijebu East/Ogun Waterside), Biyi Otegbeye (Egbado South/Ipokia), Mikail Kazeem (Abeokuta North/Obafemi-Owode/Odeda), Lanre Edun (Abeokuta South), Kolapo Osunsanya (Ijebu Ode/Odogbolu/Ijebu North East) and Adewunmi Onanuga as consensus candidate for Ikenne/Sagamu/Remo North seat.

According to Elegbede, names of consensus candidates for all the 26 state assembly seats will be released later.

The party spokesman however said the ruling party in the state has not foreclosed direct primaries in any constituency where consensus arrangement fails.

“The conduct of the consensus primary was done in an open and transparent manner and this demonstrated the party’s belief in the tenets of democracy,” the publicist said.