African Writers Awards releases 2019 longlist


African Writers Awards (AWA) has released the longlist for its 2019 prize in four categories, children’s literature, flash fiction, poetry, and short stories.

Children’s Literature – Judged by Nahida Esmail (Tanzania)

1.‘Albinism Is Not A Curse’ by Oroni Tendera (Kenya)

  1. ‘Okapi Rock Ii’ by Allen Jo (Kenya)
  2. ‘Kumba Wants to Skip Class’ by Spencer Okoroafor (Nigeria)
  3. ‘The Lazy Vulture’ by Elaoje Sophie Oto (Nigeria)
  4. ‘The Zappinator’ by Eme Ogbu (Nigeria)
  5. ‘Cultural Stereotypes’ by Kui Gitonga (Kenya)
  6. ‘Christmas in the Village’ by Kelvin J. Shachile (Kenya)
  7. ‘The Birth of Nuru – The African Barbie’ by Nimo Kuria (Kenya)
  8. ‘Pauline in a New School’ by Mwita Grace (Kenya)
  9. ‘My Friend, Tom’ by Ajiambo Immaculate (Kenya)

Flash Fiction – Judged by Adah Bitiah Chembo (Zambia)

  1. ‘Isoken’ By Praise Osawaru (Nigeria)
  2. ‘Breaking the Norm; Ungrateful Girl’ by Temani Nkalolang (Botswana)
  3. ‘The Pharmacist Writes’ by Oluwagbenga Ayomide Ruth (Nigeria)
  4. ‘21st Century Crossing’ by Mabaso Nokubonga (South Africa)
  5. ‘Osu’ By Bliss Boma (Nigeria)
  6. ‘Rewriting the Old Cultures’ by Kodeck Bildad (Kenya)

7.‘Cultural Stereotypes in African Literature’ by Ojeamiren Aimalohi (Nigeria)

  1. ‘Magcaba’ Sinenhlanhla MlilowokuNqoba (South Africa)
  2. ‘The Child Strangler’ by Efe-Khaese Desmond (Nigeria)
  3. ‘Bambi’ by Nkateko Priscilla Masinga (South Africa)

Poetry – Judged by Kolabomi Adeko (Nigeria)

  1. ‘Ode to The African Woman’ by Abba Kalgo (Nigeria)
  2. ‘Young Alone’ by Njoka Dickson (Kenya)
  3. ‘Pongwe’s Life’ by Andrea B Matambo (Zambia)
  4. ‘Nigerian Stereo-Errortic-Tionary’ by Babalola Joseph Olamide (Nigeria)
  5. ‘Depression’ by Wangari Lucy (Kenya)
  6. ‘Our Lives in Short’ by Ezeh Michael (Nigeria)
  7. ‘Mysterious 54 Children’ by Kiekomo Divine (Cameroon)
  8. ‘Joy Street’ by May Livere (Kenya)
  9. ‘Where Do You Come From’ by Karimot Odebode (Nigeria)
  10. ‘Cold Sun’ by Ashioya Edward (Kenya)

Short Stories – Judged by Sabah Carrim (Mauritius)

  1. ‘Please, Please’ by Benson TJ (Nigeria)
  2. ‘A Lesson in Diffraction’ by Justin Clement (Nigeria)
  3. ‘Wild Things’ by Mazpa Ejikem (Nigeria)
  4. ‘Habyarimana is Dead’ by Philip Arko Ewusi (Ghana)
  5. ‘Good Bad People’ by Erick Livumbazi Ngoda (Kenya)
  6. ‘Girls From Home’ by Ekemini Pius (Nigeria)
  7. ‘Talking Skulls’ by Emily Khalayi Wekulo (Kenya)
  8. ‘Hiding’ by Priscillar Matara (Botswana)
  9. ‘A Tale of a New Dawn’ by Fwangkes Kenret (Nigeria)
  10. ‘The Knowing’ by Rudo Mutangadura (Zimbabwe)

The shortlist will be released on Monday, August 26, 2019 and the award ceremony held on September 28, 2019 at the Sarit Centre, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya.

The prize is supported by the African Writers Development Trust (AWDT)


Download Daily Trust News App

Get it on Google Play
Share this article

Join us on

Join our whatsapp group here for Breaking News, Exclusives , others

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email:

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organizations stand or views on issues.