7 Zamfara lawmakers reject LG bosses tenure extension

Seven members of Zamfara state House of Assembly have outrightly rejected the tenure extension of the local government chairmen by the state assembly.

The members are, Chief  Whip Abdullahi Mohammed Dansadau, Deputy Chief Whip, Mallam Mani Mallam Mumuni, Hon. Salisu Musa Tsafe, Hon. Dayyabu Adamu Rijiya, Hon. Munsur Ahmed Musa Bungudu, Hon. Hashimu M. Shehu Gazura and Hon. Abubakar Ajiya Nasarawa:


“On the 2nd day of January 2019 instant the good people of Zamfara state and the general public were informed by the Government of Zamfara state of the wholesale extension of the tenure of all 14  elected local government councils in Zamfara state by 3 months beginning 2nd day of January 2019 to 2nd day f April, 2019,” leader of the group, Hon. Salisu Musa Tsafe said in a press conference

He said the tenure extension was sequel to a purported approval or confirmation by the Zamfara state House of Assembly granted in an emergency session of the House held on 2nd day of January 2019 to a request brought for that purpose by governir Abdulaziz Yari Abubakar.

The said extension was purportedly made pursuant to powers enabling under section 15(4) of the Zamfara State local Government Law, 2012, as amended.

By the said extension the 14 democratically elected Local Government Councils in Zamfara State whose tenure began on 2nd day of January, 2016 and constitutionally and or statutorily expired on 2nd day of January, 2019 were by administrative and fiat extended for another three months.

Download Daily Trust News App

Get it on Google Play
Share this article

Join us on

Share your story with us: 08189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email:

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organizations stand or views on issues.