2020 Commonwealth Prize open for submissions

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is now accepting submissions for its 2020 edition.

This edition’s judging panel will be chaired by Ghanaian writer and editor, Nii Ayikwei Parkes. Others on the panel, from each of the five Commonwealth regions, include Mohale Mashigo (Africa), William Phuan (Asia) Heather O’Neill (Canada and Europe), Elizabeth Walcott-Hackshaw (the Caribbean) and Nic Low (the Pacific).

Each year the judges select five winning writers. The overall winner receives £5,000, while regional winners each receive £2,500. If the winning story is a translation, the translator receives additional prize money.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction, between 2,000 and 5,000 words, in English.

Several Nigerians have emerged regional winners in the past. These include Efua Traore (2018), Akwaeke Emezi (2017) Leslie Nneka Arimah (2015), and Morrison Okoli (2012).

Submissions for the 2020 prize will close on November 1 2019.


Download Daily Trust News App

Get it on Google Play
Share this article

Join us on

Join our whatsapp group here for Breaking News, Exclusives , others

Complain about a story or Report an error and/or correction: +2348189301900 (Whatsapp and SMS only) Email:

DISCLAIMER: Comments on this thread are that of the maker and they do not necessarily reflect the organizations stand or views on issues.